Garden: Planted

What a difference 9 days makes!

What a difference 9 days makes!

Finally, the weather has been nice for more then one day! I took advantage of a couple of warm days and planted my garden. I talked about getting antsy for spring in my Garden: Prep Work post and thought it might snow Thursday of that week. Well guess what, we missed the snow but a hour away the got 18″+!!

Garden Planted

Planted!

I planted the garden on May 7th this year. I have not planted everything yet, I’m still waiting to plant my tomatoes and peppers until the night lows aren’t in the 30°s.

In the corner with the straw are my potatoes! Yes, I’ll admit I saw the idea on Pinterest; I grew them this way last year and it didn’t work the best so I thought I would alter it a little bit and try it one more time. For my garden, where space is limited, its nice to be able to plant potatoes without taking up much space!

The same day I planted my garden, the farm started planting corn! I know all of my farmer friends are getting pretty anxious to get corn planted because they can all remember last year they were done planting by now!

Just like I prepped my garden, the farmers have been prepping their fields this week before planting. They have some bigger and far more advanced equipment then I do. I’m pretty old fashioned and didn’t use a garden tiller to work my garden, just a hand tiller. I spread some rabbit manure on my garden and likewise the farmers are recycling animal manure and using it as fertilizer for their fields. I know those farmers are sure happy for the advancements in technology, can you imagine farming multiple football field size areas of land by hand?!

2 thoughts on “Garden: Planted

  1. Pingback: Planting and Pigs | Ahnna On About Anything

  2. Pingback: Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp | Ahnna On About Anything

Leave a Reply

