Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp

Its been officially spring for 2 months and 10 days. Spring means lots of things but one of the things I most look forward to is Gardening. This year in my garden I FINALLY have rhubarb to harvest and was able to pick some for the first time this week!

I love rhubarb but it seems like most recipes have some much sugar in them so last year I went in search of a low-sugar rhubarb crisp recipe and found this low-sugar Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp at allrecipes.com. This recipe is great because it uses the natural sweetness of the strawberries to offset the tart of the rhubarb. I tweaked the recipe a little bit and came up with the following, talk about a simple recipe:

Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp:

  • 4 cups chopped fresh rhubarb
  • 1 pint strawberries, hulled and sliced (use an egg slicer to speed up the slicing)
  • 2 tablespoons honey (more for a sweeter crisp)
  • 2 tablespoons corn starch

Topping:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F

2. In a medium bowl, mix together rhubarb, strawberries, honey, and corn starch. Transfer to a 9×9 baking dish. (tip: I just mixed it right in the baking dish and tossed it with clean hands)

3. In a medium bowl, stir together rolled oats, brown sugar and melted butter. Mix together until completely combined.

4. Bake for 40-45 minutes in the preheated oven, until rhubarb is tender and the topping is toasted.

Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

I think this is best served warm with vanilla ice cream. If you are going for the low-sugar theme serve with low-sugar ice cream, which is really good and my hubby doesn’t even know its low sugar.

I love rhubarb, so check back for some more delicious rhubarb recipes this summer! Do you have a favorite recipe you would like to share?

3 thoughts on “Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp

  1. I am going to have to give this to my husband to try! He made a delicious rhubarb torte a couple weeks ago. I’ll share the recipe if I can find it. It was delicious, but too high in calories and too tasty to have him make it again. Your crisp sounds like a good alternative!

  2. Thanks for the recipe! I was going to ask you for a good rhubarb recipe a while back and forgot to ask. Can’t wait to try it!

  3. Pingback: Marcia’s Rhubarb Coffee Cake | Ahnna On About Anything

Leave a Reply

