Fresh Apple Cake with Caramel Sauce

It’s officially been fall for over a week so I’m not sure why I’ve waited so long to share this amazing recipe.

Fall is my favorite. Why? Well, there are a few things that I love about it…

Corn Harvest 2013

Corn Harvest 2013

  • Beautiful weather-I could live in a sweatshirt and a pair of jeans
  • Harvest-the fields look absolutely beautiful and it smells amazing!
  • Canning and freezing-tomatoes, salsa, spaghetti sauce, apple sauce, jalapeno pepper jelly, corn, beans, and carrots (ok some of those happen in summer, but still…)
  • and APPLES!! (which I love to eat with peanut butter!)

So here is the deal, I have an incredible recipe for you, and by incredible I mean divinely scrumptious. Trust me, you are going to want to make this one and then keep the recipe close by. I made this less then 6 hours ago and there are 3 pieces left out of a 9×13 pan. Did I mention it is EASY to make.

Apple Cake

Fresh Apple Cake with Caramel Sauce

  • 4 cups diced apples
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2/3 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 350°.

Place diced apples in a large bowl and stir in eggs.

Add sugar, oil, cinnamon and nuts.

Apple Cake

Combine flour, salt, and baking soda. Add to apple mixture. Stir well.

Apple Cake

Bake in a 9×13 pan for 45 minutes.

Apple Cake

Caramel Sauce:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup cream or half & half
  • 1 heaping Tbls flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Combine all ingredients, except vanilla.

Caramel Sauce

Caramel Sauce

Bring to a boil and cook for 30 seconds, until thickened, stirring constantly.

Caramel Sauce

Remove from heat and stir in vanilla. Serve warm over cake. Refrigerate leftovers.

Apple Cake

Apple Cake

 

I hope you enjoy the cake, please leave a comment and tell me how it was! 

5 thoughts on “Fresh Apple Cake with Caramel Sauce

Leave a Reply

